By close of voting tomorrow electorates at Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency in the Greater Accra Region would know which of the four political party representatives will replace their late Member of Parliament (MP), Emmanuel Kyeremateng Agyarko.

The candidates vying for the vacant seat include Ms Lydia Seyram Alhassan (New Patriotic Party), Kwasi Delali Brempong (National Democratic Congress), William Dowokpor, (Progressive People’s Party) and Clement Boadi of the Liberal Party of Ghana.


The ruling NPP led by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo and his Vice, Dr Mahamadu Bawumia, yesterday held a mammoth rally in the constituency where the party told the constituents to vote for the NPP’s candidate.

The significance of tomorrow’s bye-election is a straight battle between the NPP and the NDC.

The late Mr Agyarko who was the NPP candidate in the 2016 election polled 32,591, representing 57.32 per cent; while Delali Kwasi Brempong of the NDC also garnered 22,534, representing 39.63 per cent. William Dowokpor, the PPP candidate, had 1,099, representing 1.93 per cent; while Kweku Quansah of the Convention People’s Party (CPP) had 638 votes, representing 1.12 per cent.

In 2012, Mr Agyarko of the NPP had 31,807, representing 50.30 per cent; Kwame Awuah-Darko of the NDC had 30,116 votes, representing 47.63 per cent; William Dowokpor, PPP, 998, 1.58 per cent; Antisem Donkor, CPP, 169, 0.27 per cent; Foster Apetor of the National Democratic Party (NDP), 74, 0.12 per cent, and Henry Haruna Asante, PNC, 68, representing 0.11 per cent.

In the 2008 election, Madam Akosua Fremah, the current Chief of Staff, stood on the ticket of the NPP, and had 24,603, representing 48.24 per cent; Albert Kwadwo Twum Boafo of the NDC had 21,564, 42.28 per cent; William Dowokpor, then of the CPP, also had 1,910, representing 3.75 per cent, with Henry Haruna Asante of the PNC polling 374, representing 0.73 per cent.

The 2004 poll had Madam Osei Opare polling 28,636, representing 52.10 per cent; Samuel Adiepena, NDC, 20,828 which translated into 37.90 per cent; Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the CPP, 4,964, nine per cent, and Henry Haruna Asante of the PNC polled 506, representing one per cent.

For the 2000 election, Mr George Isaac Amoo of the NPP polled 17,555, representing 56.20 per cent; Mr Elvis Afriyie Ankrah of the NDC polled 11,388 votes, representing 36.50 per cent; Jane Chinebuah of the CPP polled 1,077, representing 3.50 per cent; Mary Elsie Yirenkyi of the NRP, 715, representing 2.30 per cent, and Samuel Addy of the PNC polling 477 votes representing 1.50 per cent.

The 1996 election had Rebecca Akweley Adotey of the NDC polling 15,089 votes, representing 35.10 per cent; George Isaac Amoo of the NPP had 14,795, 34.40 per cent (was challenged in court), Andrews La-Anyane of the PNC, 1,127, 2.60 per cent; Jane Chinebuah of the CPP, 852, two per cent, and an independent candidate, Joyce Abla Tamakloe, had 855, two per cent.


The 1992 parliamentary election had the Mr Francis Napoleon K. Kumah of the National Convention Party (NCP), an appendage of the NDC, winning.

Within the 28-year span of parliamentary election in the Fourth Republic, the NPP has won the Ayawaso West Wuogon seat five times, as against two by the NDC.

However, this time around Mr Dowokpor of the PPP had promised to shock political pundits in the country.

He is contesting the seat for the fourth consecutive time since 2008, and had promised to surprise political pundits in the country.

He had vowed to garner less than 45 per cent of the valid votes to enable him secure the seat from the NPP.

According to some political commentators, the result of the election will be an antecedent of what to expect in the general election of 2020.

A loss for the NPP candidate might signal the assessment of the government, two years into its term, and provide the opposition NDC with a tool to intensify its campaign in 2020.

Some also believe that should the NPP win, the margin by which it always wins would also hold much for the future of the party in the next election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here